Day 1 Recap

I won yesterday. 1-0.

My initial plan was to run and do a 10-minute abs/push-up workout. After blogging, I drove to Target to get a drain plug for the inevitable ice bath that would be necessary at the end of the day. When I got back to the house, I stretched and went on my first run in many many months.

I have used the C25K (Couch To 5K) app with decent success in the past and went with the week 1 workout. For those of you unfamiliar with C25K, it’s an app that guides your journey from being a beginning runner to being able to finish a 5K. The first week is obviously the easiest, but it eases you in to running more smoothly than just trying to run a mile your first time. I ended up going about a mile and a half during my first workout, alternating 60 seconds of running and 90 seconds of walking.

It was really hard. I really struggled. My wife (running buddy) was unfortunately still working so I was on my own. It’s great running with her because we tend to run at a similar pace and she pushes me to keep going when I want to quit. Without her, there were multiple times that I was tempted to walk instead of run. My first couple of times running, I get severe cramps/discomfort on the outside of my legs. It’s like the muscles/tendons that connect my ankles to my legs. It’s funny because by the end of the 30 minute workout, I’d rather run than walk because of the discomfort from these muscles while walking.

Every time I wanted to stop running before the 60 seconds were up, I was able to push through the pain and finish the sequence. By the end of it, the pain in my legs forced me to keep running through my cool-down which resulted in me running an extra two minutes or so. In the end, I definitely won.

When I got home, it was time to make dinner. My wife and I are fortunate enough to live in a town with a Hy-Vee, which has great meat selections at a very affordable price. You can get 8 oz chicken breasts for $2 every day, already seasoned and ready for the grill. I combined two chicken breasts with some fresh green beans and a yellow onion and threw it on the grill. This was my first time ever making fresh green beans; apparently, you are supposed to cut off the ends of these before cooking (oops). Nevertheless, it was a good, healthy meal.

I didn’t time out the day very well, because I didn’t have time to fit in my abs/push-ups workout before I had to start cooking. I was exhausted after giving my body rest while eating. Normally I would have just given in and said, “oh I can do that tomorrow”.  Then I thought of that quote from Maya Angelou.

If you don’t like something, change it.

Instantly, I was pumped up again and ready to attack a 10 minute workout. Below was my plan:

  1. Sets of 20 ab crunches
  2. 30 seconds of leg-floats (I don’t actually know the name to this workout, here’s the link)
  3. Push-ups until tired
  4. Repeat 1-3

This is a workout routine I utilized in high school quite a bit and it’s been a go-to workout for me in the past. I mainly throw in the push-ups because I need a rest for my abs. It’s also great to pair with a running day because you’re getting some exercise for legs (running), core (crunches/risers) and arms/back (push-ups).

I think the “push-ups until tired” is a pretty poor plan because there isn’t really a goal. I’m already tired before I start the push-ups, so what is the actual plan? I was struggling with doing sets of 5 while maintaining good form so I ended up just going for 5 push-ups each set.

I was about 7 and a half minutes into my workout and I was freaking dead. I had no energy left. I was done. I was thinking about the ice bath and my comfortable bed. I had already done more than I normally would have. I had something to be proud of. I had already stopped the workout in my head and was just laying flat on my back catching my breath. Then something happened. Kanye’s All of the Lights happened.

Music is something I’ll speak on a lot. I honestly feel it’s critical to my success when working out. Mentally, if I have a playlist that is keeping my psyched, I will be more effective in my workouts. I can be super motivated and all about not quitting before my workout starts, but when I’m tired and want to quit, music will often times help keep me going.

The song triggered me to keep going. I stopped looking at my watch and just kept going until I couldn’t go any longer. My last set of push-ups to end the workout, I told myself I was going to do a set of 10, which was double the most I had done during any of my sets. I know it probably doesn’t sound like much, but I had struggled with just getting 5 at a time. It wasn’t easy, but I finished my 10th push-up of the final set and dropped to the floor completely exhausted. I won. I freaking won.

The workout in total was just over 12 minutes. Thanks, Kanye.

I then proceeded to fill up my tub with cold water and dumped all of the ice from my ice-maker into it. I need to brush up on the pros/cons of ice baths, but they’re something that I personally feel very strongly about. I go for about 3-4 minutes and it seems to help my body feel significantly better while trying to sleep but also the next day after. I follow an ice bath up with a luke-warm shower (not too hot) to get some body heat back.

Today, I feel amazing. I won yesterday and that feeling of winning is simply exhilarating. It makes me want to win again today.

While I did lose weight, it is just water weight and will likely increase by tomorrow’s weigh-in.

Status update:

I currently weigh 257.1 pounds.

I have lost 4.3 pounds as of today, 6/20/2017.

Zero To One Hundred, Real Quick. 💯

Leave a Reply

